THE HISTORY OF CHIROPRACTIC

Reconnaissance

1895

D.D. Palmer started to practice as a “chiropractor”.

1897

The Palmer School of Chiropractic, the first chiropractic educational institution, opened.

1913

Kansas became the first state of the country to recognise and license the chiropractic. Louisiana was the last state in 1974.

1923


Alberta became the first province to license chiropractic practice in Canada. Ontario followed it in 1925. Newfoundland was the last province, in 1992.

1933


The US Council of State Chiropractic Examining Boards was established with a mandate to provide unified standards for licensure. It was renamed as the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards (FCLB) in 1974.

1939

The Canton of Zurich, Switzerland became the first jurisdiction outside North America to license the practice of chiropractic.

1944

The Foundation for Chiropractic Education and Research (FCER) was created and became the profession’s foremost agency for the funding of postgraduate scholarship and research.

1963


The US National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) was established to promote consistency and reciprocity between state examining boards.

1974


The US Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) was recognised by the federal government as the accrediting agency for chiropractic schools. This led to the development of affiliated agencies in Australia, Canada, Europe and most recently Latin America.

1979

In New Zealand, the report of the NZ Commission of Inquiry into Chiropractic got published. This was the first government commission that adopted a full judicial procedure on the role of the chiropractic profession, hearing evidence under oath and cross-examining patients, chiropractors, medical doctors and others. The Commission’s recommendations strongly endorsed chiropractic services and called for medical cooperation.

1987

The final judgment in the Wilk vs. American Medical Association case was entered, opening the way for much greater cooperation between medical and chiropractic doctors in education, research and practice in the United States and internationally.

1988

The World Federation of Chiropractic (WFC) was formed. The WFC, which is actually constituted of national associations of chiropractors in over 85 countries, was admitted into official relations with the World Health Organization (WHO) as a non-governmental organisation or NGO in January 1997.

1993

The Manga Report in Canada was the first government-commissioned report by health economists looking at the cost-effectiveness of chiropractic services. It recognized a primary role for chiropractors in back pain patients on grounds of safety, cost-effectiveness and patient preference. It concluded that chiropractic would save hundreds of millions of dollars annually in direct health care costs and work disability payments.

1994

Government-sponsored expert panels developing evidence-based guidelines for the management of patients with back pain in the US (Agency for HealthCare Policy and Research) and the U.K. (Clinical Standards Advisory Group) provided the first authoritative reports that manipulation is a proven and preferred treatment approach for most acute low-back pain patients.

1996

The US government began official funding support for an ongoing agenda in chiropractic research thanks to the National Institutes of Health.

1998

The first year in which there were more chiropractic schools outside the United States (17) than in the United States (16). In 2007, with the opening of schools in Japan, Malaysia and Spain, there were 23 recognised schools outside the United States.

2002

The US Congress introduced chiropractic services in the military health system, then in 2004 throughout the veterans’ administration healthcare system.

2005

The WHO published the WHO Guidelines on Basic Training and Safety in Chiropractic, recommending educational standards for the recognition and regulation of chiropractic services in all member countries. By 2009, the guides were printed in Arabic, Chinese, English, Finnish, French, German, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish and Turkish.

en_GBEnglish

HISTOIRE DE LA CHIROPRAXIE

Reconnaissance

1895

D.D. Palmer s’installe en tant que “ chiropraticien.”

1897

La Palmer School of Chiropractic, première institution d’enseignement chiropratique, ouvre ses portes.

1913

L’État du Kansas est le premier État américain à reconnaître et autoriser l’exercice de la chiropraxie. La Louisiane sera le dernier à le reconnaître en 1974.

1923


L’Alberta est la première province à délivrer une licence d’exercice chiropratique au Canada. L’Ontario suit en 1925. Terre-Neuve sera la dernière en 1992.

1933


Le Conseil d’État Américain des Examens Chiropratiques est créé avec pour mandat de fournir des normes communes à l’autorisation d’exercer. Il sera rebaptisé Fédération of Chiropractic Licensing Boards (FCLB) en 1974.

1939

Le canton suisse de Zurich devient la première juridiction en dehors de l’Amérique du Nord à autoriser la pratique de la chiropratique.

1944

La Fondation pour l’Education et la Recherche en Chiropratique (FCER) est créée et devient le principal organisme de la profession pour le financement de bourses d’études supérieures et la recherche.

1963


Le US National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) est établi pour promouvoir la cohérence et la réciprocité entre États.

1974


Le Conseil en Éducation Chiropratique (Council on Chiropractic Education) est reconnu par le gouvernement fédéral américain comme organisme d’accréditation pour les écoles chiropratiques. Cela conduit à la création d’agences affiliées en Australie, au Canada, en Europe et plus récemment en Amérique latine.

1979

En Nouvelle-Zélande, le rapport de la Commission d’enquête sur la chiropratique est publié. Ce fut la première commission gouvernementale à adopter une procédure juridique complète sur le rôle de la profession chiropratique.

1987

Le jugement définitif du procès Wilk contre plusieurs associations médicales américaines ouvre la voie à une coopération beaucoup plus étroite entre le monde médical et celui de la chiropraxie.

1988

La Fédération Mondiale de Chiropratique (FMC) est constituée. La FMC, dont les membres sont des associations nationales de chiropraticiens dans plus de 85 pays, est admise à des réunions officielles avec l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) à titre d’organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) en Janvier 1997.

1993

Le rapport Manga est le premier rapport gouvernemental canadien publié par des économistes spécialistes en santé afin d’étudier le rapport coût-efficacité des services chiropratiques. Il recommande la prise en charge des patients souffrant de lombalgie en première intention par les chiropraticiens, un rapport coût/éfficacité positif, ainsi que la pratique sécuritaire des soins. Ce dispositif permet d’économiser des centaines de millions par an en coûts directs de soins ainsi que des prestations d’invalidité du travail.

1994

Le Gouvernement Américain, parrainé par des panels d’experts en développement de recommandation de bonne pratique pour la gestion des patients atteints de maux de dos (Agency for Health Care Policy and Research) et au Royaume-Uni (Clinical Standards Advisory Group) publieront les premiers rapports démontrant que la manipulation est une méthode éprouvée et efficace pour la majeure partie des patients souffrant de maux de dos en aigus

1996

Le Gouvernement américain soutient financièrement, avec des fonds publics, un programme permanent de recherche chiropratique dirigé par les National Institutes of Health.

1998

Première année où l’on dénombre plus d’écoles de chiropraxie à l’extérieur des États-Unis (17) qu’à l’intérieur (16).

2002

Le Congrès américain introduit des services de chiropratique dans le système de santé militaire puis, en 2004, dans tout le système de soins des vétérans.

2005

L’OMS publie ses lignes directrices sur la pratique de base et la sécurité en chiropratique, en recommandant des normes éducatives pour la reconnaissance et la réglementation de la chiropratique dans tous les pays membres.

fr_FRFrench